Register now for only £10 including lunches!

Studying or working in a science or engineering subject? Interested in how to close the gender gap? Want to hear great role models speak about their own experiences?

Then join us for our Annual Conference taking place on March 7th- 8th, 2015 in Oxford.

The conference will motivate, inspire, and promote women across all STEM subjects through a series of talks by prominent members of the STEM community in the UK and EU, panel discussions regarding legislation and support schemes for under-represented women in academia, workshops on personal branding, negotiation and other key employability skills and interactive discussion of men and women roles in the effort for a gender balance in STEM.

This event promises to be filled with exciting activities that will challenge our views of women in the scientific world, and will present an exciting opportunity for you to be inspired, add to your skills, make new connections, discuss your own views with like-minded people and encourage you to goals and careers.

Confirmed speakers include:

  • Katrina Roberts – Vice President – Interim Head of Global Network and International Consumer Technologies at American Express; winner of Leader of the Year in a corporate organization at the FDM Everywoman in Technology Awards 2014
  • Amali de Alwis – Head of Code First: Girls
  • Prof Alex Blakemore – Professor of Human Molecular Genetics at Imperial College London and Athena SWAN Faculty of Medicine Ambassador for Women 2010-2013
  • Dawn Bonfield CENg, FIMMM, FWES – President of the Women’s Engineering Society (WES)
  • Dr Ellie Cosgrave – Engineer and Research Associate at UCL’s Department of Science Technology Engineering and Public Policy (UCL STEaPP), Co-Founder and Director of ScienceGrrl – a national network that supports women in science and engineering careers
  • Dr Emily Flashman – Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellow and L’Oréal-UNESCO Fellow for Women in Science 2011, finalist of the ‘Women of the Future Science and Technology’ Awards
  • Prof Irene Tracey MA (Oxon), D.Phil (PhD), FRCA – Nuffield Professor Anaesthetic Science & Director, Oxford Centre for FMRI of Brain Nuffield Department of Clinical Neurosciences (Head, Nuffield Division Anaesthetics)
  • Prof Julie Gray -Professor of Plant Cell Signalling and Co-director of the Robert Hill Institute and member of Women@TUoS Steering Group
  • Gwyneth Stallard OBE  – Chair of the London Mathematical Society’s (LMS) Women in Mathematics Committee since 2006
  • Sue Cooper – Non-Executive Director of Skills4uk Ltd which specializes in designing and delivering career development programmes for women in science and engineering. Winner of the Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Champion Award in November 2014 presented by the Princess Royal

If you have any questions, please write to us at oxfest.conference@gmail.com.

Travelling from outside of Oxford? Check back soon for our advice on places to stay and getting to Oxford!

 Register now for only £10 including lunches!

We look forward to welcoming you at our conference!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s